Friday, March 16, 2012

Will "Autistic" become the next pejorative?

Thursday, March 8, 2012

Going gluten free? What products to avoid

Photo by: Megan Finley

A gluten-free diet is a diet that excludes foods containing gluten. Gluten is a specific type of protein found in wheat (including kamut and spelt), barley, rye, malts and triticale. It is used as a food additive in the form of a flavoring, stabilizing or thickening agent, often as "dextrin". Going gluten free means avoiding these grains. A gluten free die is essential for most people with gluten allergies or celiac disease this condition can cause intestitan damage when gluten is eaten.

This is a list of ingredients/foods that do have Gluten, PLEASE AVOID these:

You need to read labels, some ingredients are obvious but remember some products have stealth gluten. Some labels says "100% gluten free"
Wheat in all forms including: spelt, kamut, triticale (a combination of wheat and rye), durum, einkorn, farina, cake flour, matzo (or matzah), bran, couscous, malt (which is made from barley), rye, barley, seitan, hydrolized vegetable protein, semolina, wheat.

Do I need to say good bye to bread?
Yes also to Pizza, croissants, cakes, burger buns, scones, etc but don't despair, there are alternatives
And in the next days we will post some links with gluten free products.

Have a great day!!

GM Autism Blog Team

Sunday, March 4, 2012

Gluten Free Tips


Substituting Gluten-Free Flour for Wheat Flour in Baked Goods
Gluten gives important properties to regular dough, so if you simply eliminate it without compensating for it in some way, you'll have disappointing results. Here are tips for successful baking with gluten-free flours.

How to make gluten free flours?


2 cups rice flour
2/3 cup potato starch
1/3 cup tapioca flour
1 teaspoon xanthan gum


Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and stir.

Use mixture in all your gluten free baking recipes. Store this mixture in a air-tight container. And stir well before use it.