A lot of people ask me.. what do you use instead of butter... (my son is also casein free due to allergies). Sometimes I use a buttery spread..until I discover GHEE!! The first time I saw this in a naturist store, I had no idea what GHEE was and didn't know I can prepare it at home. So finally I decided to make ghee at home using unsalted organic butter. I somehow feel it is better than the store bought ghee and cheaper. So this is what I have been doing for last many monthsThe well-prepared ghee should not contain any casein or lactose. But it may contain traces of both casein and lactose. Also many people with lactose intolerance or casein consumed ghee without problems.
As always recommend checking with your doctor and follow their recommendations.
But what is GHEE exactly? Ghee is a Sanskrit word for a clarified butter used primarily in Indian cuisine. Because the preparation of ghee involves heat, it has a distinctive toasted flavor, often described as nutty. Before the advent of commercial vegetable oils, ghee was widely used for deep frying. Unlike other butter-based products, ghee has a high smoking point and can be stored without refrigeration for weeks. As long as ghee is stored in air-tight containers, it does not spoil easily.How to make it?
- Heat 8 sticks of butter in a clean heavy bottomed pan. When all the butter is melted, keep the heat on medium-low. Let it boil.